Innsbruck, Austria.

Innsbruck Austria

I hope someone asks what I did on valentines day this year because I’ll probably never again be able to say, “oh, I spent it snowboarding in Austria with my shiny, new husband (and his brother)”.

Innsbruck, AustriaInnsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria

We visited the enchanting town of Innsbruck for only two days. I’ve seen a few mountains in my time, but I’ve never felt as inclosed by them as in Innsbruck. We were surrounded by the “North Chain”, kidnapped by snow capped mountains on every side and loved it.

It’s a small town, but walking and looking around was enough for me. Plus, we stayed at Hotel Central, located right in the middle of town so getting around was a breeze. The hotel has a sauna, a gym, and a nice restaurant inside. Making the decision between exploring the city and staying in was tough but with one look out our hotel room window we ran out the door.

We kept running until we found ourselves some strudels, the most Austrian food we could find, and then jumped on the Innsbrucker Nordkettenbahnen, the cable cars, to go up the mountain.

Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck Austria

We hadn’t planned to spend the day snowboarding, but the atmosphere at the top of the mountain was infectious. Renting gear was easy and surprisingly cheap.

I should have worn a huge sign around my neck that said “DANGER, REAL DANGER”, but it seemed all the “other beginners” could maneuver their way around me. I actually enjoyed sliding off the lift and onto my butt; contrary to popular belief, that’s what I wanted to do. It made it easier to crawl to a safe area on top of the mountain with a nice view and spending the next 5 minutes strapping myself to my board.

Innsbruck Austria Innsbruck Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck Austria Innsbruck, Austria Innsbruck, Austria

We weren’t there for long but here are some places we tried and liked!:

Ludwig: Burger, fries and milkshakes… delicious!
Strudel-Cafe Kroell: Get your strudel, any strudel and go.
Restaurant Seegrube: The restaurant on top of the mountain is actually pretty good.

Leave a Reply

